Log Settings

The 'Log Settings' window can be accessed through the menubar under the 'Aquirer' option. The option to record 'Debug' messages is offered. Under normal conditions it is recommended that this is not enabled. The number of debug messages added to a log can be large. This can affect performance. If you are experiencing problems of some sort, enabling 'Debug' logging may help you. If you request support you may be asked to enable it for a while and send the output. Once disabled, the viewer does not simply filter out these messages, but rather the message will never be added to the log file. As all log viewers take their data from the log files, they will not be able to show these messages even if the log viewer does not filter them out (they have not been recorded).

The other useful feature found under the log settings is to control how many days of log files are stored before older files get deleted. Files that are older than the specified number of days are deleted. It is recommended that this feature be enabled, even if set to a large number. This will prevent all drive space from eventually being consumed by logs.

Figure 12.2. Log Settings

Log Settings

Copyright (c) Warren Flemmer 2006www.net-probe.com